A look back: September

I’ve had this blog for over three years now, but rarely go back and read old posts. Well, now’s the time! I was having a conversation with one of my faithful blog readers (Hi, Aunt Jane!) the other day, when she started talking about one of her favorite posts. She brought up little details about past blogs that I had completely forgotten.

These three posts are all about beginnings. In September 2013 (aka right now!) I am beginning a new life back in the United States. I need to find a new job, new place to call home, new friends and new things to do with my free time. At times it can feel daunting or overwhelming, so it was good to go back and revisit some of my past entries from September, see how I overcame similar levels of uncertainty and ultimately flourished. Here’s to fresh starts!

From September 2010- Home, sweet home

Settling down to life in China was a really fun adventure. Flooded bathrooms, learning how to buy food in the market, and finding sheets for my giant bed were all challenges, but everything seemed to make me laugh (not cry/scream/give up). Maybe it was because I went through it all with Margaret and she had such a good attitude about it all.

Our bathroom setup for the first few weeks in Dalian involved a complicated mix of tubes, tubs, clips and squeegees

Our bathroom setup for the first few weeks in Dalian involved a complicated mix of tubes, tubs, clips and squeegees

From September 2011- Getting a wasp nest removed in Kunming

Truth is stranger than fiction sometimes, and this story will always remind me that. I did have a few problems with lingering wasps somehow getting into my bedroom (eek!) and was never able to fully clean off the part of the nest stuck to the window. So for two years, as I woke up and looked at the window, I always remembered the crazy-SWAT-beach ball-wasp nest story…

Getting ready (in a red hazmat suit) to take on the enemy wasp nest

Getting ready (in a red hazmat suit) to take on the enemy: a giant nest of wasps

From September 2012- Kunming, Round 2

Reading this post makes me smile. It pretty much sums up my entire second year of living in Kunming. My social circle exploded! Suddenly I was the “go-to” person for Kunming knowledge– where to buy this, who to talk to about that, how to teach this, where to eat that. As an introvert, this was a huge surprise, and kind of a shock. I had to learn how to confidently and politely turn down social invitations. After I figured out how to balance an active social life, time for myself, and teaching… I was so happy. Satisfied, content, fulfilled and so, so happy.

One thought on “A look back: September

Leave a Reply

