Things I’ll Miss About China: Excellent Public Transportation

One of the things that I was most excited about when I first got home was driving. My little red Yaris was waiting for me!

Time to wake up little Yaris! Kimberly's back!

Time to wake up little Yaris! Kimberly’s back!

 

Driving on open country roads in northeastern PA with the sunshine out, windows down, and radio up makes me feel so good.

Driving!!!

Driving!!!

However, on my short little jaunt to DC, I realized that city driving stresses me out and sometimes driving (or finding parking) is not really worth it. In China I didn’t realize how lucky I was to be able to walk everywhere or hop on a city bus to get from place to place. I never had to worry about parking, never had to worry about drinking (and not driving), never had to worry about buying gas…

I happily discovered that biking around DC on a beautiful day made me feel that same good feeling as driving. I rented a bike through the Capital Bikeshare program and rode past the White House and into Virginia on a beautiful bike/running path. I kept thinking, “Wow, this is amazing. I want to be a biker chick and bike everywhereeeeeee!”

Getting my bike tuned up in Kunming... I only had this bike for a week before it was stolen :(

Getting my bike tuned up in Kunming… I only had this bike for a week before it was stolen 😦

As I soul search more, I’ve decided that I want to be in a large, international city with bike lanes and public transportation. And no car! (But please don’t tell the Yaris yet…)

 

One thought on “Things I’ll Miss About China: Excellent Public Transportation

Leave a Reply

