Walk to Walmart

This afternoon I ventured out on a 20 minute walk to the Walmart near my house. It was a crisp, cool, sunny, Fall day and I timed it so that I hit the shopping area right around peak afternoon shopping hour. Not good. Thankfully, the weather was beautiful, so I didn’t go too crazy when motorcycles and bikes and people clogged up the roads and sidewalks. It’s times like this when I realize that, yes, China does have too many people!

Leaving my street. Everything seems fine! (In the back you can see two waitresses who have just washed their hair and are hanging upside down to dry it…I guess it’s a slow day.)

Traffic jam! People, bikes, motorcycles, fruit vendors and sidewalk vendors converge

Vendors at 小西门 near Walmart. Sunbrellas and motorcycle chillin

Coming home, I ran into a different traffic situation– school getting out! Check out all of the parents’/grandparents’ motorbikes waiting to ferry their little kiddos home

Almost home!

I didn’t take any pictures when I was in Walmart because navigating the narrow isles full of shoppers takes two hands and 100% concentration. I was getting ingredients for making homemade granola bars and homemade pizza. Can’t wait to fire up my oven again!

3 thoughts on “Walk to Walmart

  1. Thanks @Lani and @Matt. I’ve been trying to snap more pictures with my iPhone when I am out and about. Daily life here has become so “normal” I don’t really think to take pictures… but then when I do and try to describe the picture to someone abroad, I instantly notice all of the “strange” things that make my life here so unique.

Leave a Reply

