National Week Holiday (R&R in Bangkok)

Two holidays for the price of one! This year Mid-Autumn Festival and China’s National Week were all rolled together for one giant holiday. No complaints from me! My dad was able to get me a free frequent flier ticket from Kunming to Bangkok for a week of R&R with the ‘rents. I flew out of Kunming’s swanky new airport!

Love the architecture– and there’s so much space. It doesn’t feel crowded at all!

I arrived in Bangkok and spent my week resting and relaxing and not doing much. It wasn’t really a trip to Bangkok, it was kind of just a trip “home.” I had some great food– tortilla soup, falafel wrap, sushi from a conveyer belt restaurant, steamed seabass with lemongrass and garlic, tom yum goong, cous cous and grilled chicken, a big green salad with baked salmon, shepherd’s pie, juicy fresh mango, macadamia nut ice cream, berry smoothie, and I could go on. I walked more than a few laps around the Nichada neighborhood lake with my mom and dad, and went to the international school to watch some soccer and volleyball games. (My parents are empty nesters and don’t have children at the school anymore, but they still seem to go there an awful lot!)

Friday Night Lights– ISB style. Boys soccer just finished their game. 

I also got some time by the pool, trying not to burn to a crisp or melt into a puddle of sweat.

It may be winter soon… but it doesn’t feel like it!

Then I flew back to Kunming, reenergized and ready to meet up with friends again. My friend Kate came over and we baked carrot cake cupcakes, topped with our own super creamy cream cheese icing. Here’s a picture of them baking in the oven. I forgot to take a picture of the finished product. (I was more interested in eating them…) We had to improvise a little because I don’t have beaters (for the icing) or a grater (for the carrots). Nothing a little elbow grease and some kitchen ingenuity can’t fix!

Made the whole house smell delicious

Now, back to school tomorrow. I think I’m going to have trouble waking up at 6 am. Maybe I’ll have a carrot cake cupcake for breakfast 🙂

2 thoughts on “National Week Holiday (R&R in Bangkok)

  1. I can almost taste them…YUM! I will be making Red Velvet cupcakes this week for Cara’s birthday. Another decadent treat! 🙂

  2. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a
    few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its
    a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

