Oops! I’ve been slacking!

... kinda like this guy!

Sorry folks! I’ve been back in Kunming for two whole weeks and haven’t been keeping up with my blog. Here’s a quick recap to tide you over until I write about my travels over the vacation.

I’m so happy to be back . The new semester is off to a great start. I’ve already taught my students a brief history of the English language (including a fascinating tidbit about why we refer to meat differently than the animal it comes from eg. pork/pig, beef/cattle, mutton/sheep), discussed Barbie’s ill-proportioned body, and ranked the things that are most important for a child’s happiness. My students this semester are all enthusiastic first years, and I’m beginning to learn their names and personalities. We’re having fun and I feel like I’ve been planning well and using class time effectively.

It’s hard to complain when the weather has been sunny and in the 70s every day. (Well, except for a three-day period when the government seeded the clouds and made it rain cats and dogs in an attempt to ameliorate the effects of a three-year drought in Yunnan province.) The ten-day weather forecast predicts temperatures between 71-79 degrees during the day, and 50s at night. Can’t get much better than that! Kunming definitely deserves the nickname “Always Spring City.” I spent the afternoon with a friend today, sitting at an open air cafe, enjoying the sunlight, people-watching and sipping on some freshly brewed Yunnan coffee. Perfection!

Coming back to Kunming has given me a chance for a fresh start in many areas of my life. It’s not that things were “bad” before, but I feel this new gust of energy from somewhere that’s really given me a boost of motivation to focus more on self-improvement. I’ve been cooking new foods, meeting new people, going to new places around town, and developing new (healthier) habits. I honestly can’t remember the last time that I was this satisfied with my life! I’m optimistic about the months ahead.

One thought on “Oops! I’ve been slacking!

Leave a Reply

