Merry Christmas

As my Christmas gift to all of you, I will write a short but sweet blog post. I know it’s been a while since I blogged. It seems that life in Kunming has been keeping me pretty busy. I wrapped up my classes last week, which was bittersweet because I will have different students and different courses next semester.

Happy students on the last day of class. Where's Waldo?

I celebrated Christmas Eve with a party at Arleigh, Dan and Tumi’s house, complete with a crazy White Elephant gift exchange. I ended up with a jump rope (that counts your jumps!) and cat treats… interesting combo! For Christmas Day, I also went over to my friend Matt, Aly and Peter’s apartment where we had a Christmas brunch including banana pancakes, scrambled eggs, toast (with really nice bread– hard to come by in China), fresh fruit and pumpkin pie (for good measure). I also fashioned a cup of mocha peppermint coffee by mixing some Swiss Miss and crushed candy cane into a cuppa joe. It was delicious and made the day seem a little more festive. We had a Secret Santa and I ended up with a giftcard to H&M, which I will have no trouble using! (Thanks, Arleigh!)

I still have piles of grading to get through, as well as exams to administer on January 5 and 6. After that I’m looking forward to a quick visit from Margaret (my roommate in Dalian) and then some sunny vacation time in Bangkok with family.

6 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Kimbers,
    Sounds like you have had a festive Christmas celebration! I especially like your mocha mint drink. Don’t let Starbucks steal that one! Keep up the good work.
    Love you!

  2. Hey Aunt Suzy, How are you guys celebrating? Say hello to everyone at Aunt Anne’s for me. My mom said that you’ll be in the Pokes too. Enjoy the winter wonderland.

  3. Love the picture. So glad you were able to celebrate Christmas with friends and sounds like you had a good time.

  4. Kimberly, a very belated Merry Christmas,
    You and friends were imaginative in your celebrating. Love the mocha joe drink, think I’ll try it. Good luck with exam time.
    You must have heard us at our rather LOUD party? We missed you. Happy New Year!
    Love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

