Things I Love About America

It’s really true that you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone. This year in China has really helped me appreciate the awesomeness that is the United States of America. I think it’s safe to say that I look at this country differently now…and might be moving back Stateside sooner than I had originally thought. Things that I’m loving right now (in no particular order)…

  1. Singing to the radio with the car windows rolled down

    I'm not the best at photography while driving... but you get the idea!

  2. Sappy TV shows like Oprah, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, and Lifetime Movie Network (Kidding about the last one. Kind of.)
  3. Size 9.5 shoes
  4. Cookouts and grilling with family
  5. NPR and talk radio
  6. Water fountains
  7. Checking out a book from the local library
  8. Lightning fast internet
  9. Strangers holding the door open for each other
  10. Water with lemon and ice cubes
  11. Small talk with the lady in line at the post office
  12. No smoking in public places
  13. Tall people
  14. The local food movement

    Veggies fresh from Grandpop's garden. I tried red beets and loved them!

  15. Blueberry muffins fresh from the oven
  16. Returns and exchanges without any questions asked
  17. Road signs
  18. Public restrooms (Even the bathrooms at truck stops or gas stations have nothing on the the best Chinese toilets. I’d prefer not to elaborate.)
  19. American flags hung proudly from people’s houses
  20. Porch swings
  21. Homemade granola

    Fresh from Kim's Kitchen (thanks to baking spices sent by Hayley!)

  22. Cold beer
  23. Sudoku in the morning paper
3 thoughts on “Things I Love About America

  1. Goes to show us how much we take things for granted.While we have these things everyday we don’t realize how lucky we are. Thanks for opening my eyes to make me realize how lucky I am. Love you.

  2. 24. Reunions with awesome friends!

    So good to see you today, Kim! Will definitely be reading about your second year in China!

  3. Pingback: USA Lovin’ | Kimfucius says...

Leave a Reply

