The Great Firewall of China

I just got back from a five day trip to Seoul, South Korea where I was able to visit with friends, eat amazing food, enjoy reliable public transportation and even drink from a water fountain (…it’s been a while).

My flight back to China was delayed for an additional two hours due to “airport conditions” in Dalian (whatever that means…) However, I didn’t mind at all because in the Seoul airport I used my ipod touch (connected to the airport’s free wi-fi) to check my email, Facebook and favorite blogs. It’s a good thing I did, because upon my arrival to Dalian, I found out that my VPN (Virtual Private Network) wasn’t working. This means no Facebook, no Twitter, no blogs, and occasional error messages when I search for certain things. The Great Firewall is not my friend right now.

The CCP celebrated their 90th birthday on July 1, and it seems that in honor of their special day, they ramped up censorship efforts. This means that I’ll have to play by their rules for a little while. If you want to contact me, the best bet is email. I’m writing this post now through a free VPN service that may or may not continue working…

Happy 4th of July to everyone in America. Please enjoy your independence and free speech 🙂

One thought on “The Great Firewall of China

  1. oh my goodness, I can’t believe I have found your blog, kim!I‘m Simon. I just thought it could never been seen by me. I couldn’t hate The Great Firewall more. And you know what, the 90th birthday of CCP means the nightmare of the TV program. So it is boring to stay at home.

Leave a Reply

