Surprise! I got a job!

It was my dad’s birthday on Wednesday, and I think I surprised him with a pretty good gift. He’s my #1 cheerleader, always trying to get me thinking about my next step career-wise. So it’s appropriate that for his birthday, I told him that I officially have a new job!

I’ve had an amazing year in Dalian, but I’m excited for a new adventure. Starting in September, I’ll be teaching English at Yunnan University in Kunming. The job will be very similar to what I’ve been doing this year, just in a much warmer city! I couldn’t be happier.

Daddy, when I grow up I want to be a..... teacher!

6 thoughts on “Surprise! I got a job!

  1. What a great gift to give your dad. You have him smiling from ear to ear. You are daddy’s special young lady. So happy for you also and know you were looking for warmer weather. I guess since you were born in Texas that is where your love for the warm weather comes from. Hope next year brings you as much joy as this year has. Sending our love.

  2. Great news. Thank you for sharing it with all of us.
    Good luck with the move and with the new job.

    Love,
    Aunt Noreen & Uncle Tim

  3. Congrats Kim! I’m so jealous–Yunnan is so beautiful and picturesque and I know you’re going to have a great time there! You can bet I’ll be keeping up with your adventures.

    p.s. Are you coming to Taigu with Margaret for Dragonboat Festival?

  4. Kimberly,
    Such wonderful news. You’ll be a dean in no time. Do you have a plan for finding a place to live or will the University set you up? You will be the center of attention answering a million questions this summer when you return for a visit. Can’t wait to see you.
    Love, Aunt Jane

  5. Thanks for the comments everyone. I’ll be holding a press conference to answer all questions when I’m back in the States (haha just kidding).

Leave a Reply

