Reunited and it feels so good

Here’s a riddle. How can people from Bangkok, Thailand, Dalian, China and Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania, USA all be in the same place at the same time?

Stumped? Here’s a hint…

All in the same place, at the same time

The answer is… they’re all on Skype! We arranged an epic family Skype session in honor of my mom’s birthday on April 10th. Ben gave her a kiss for me and Patrick, and we all sang happy birthday to her. (Although I was on a three-second delay, so it sounded horrible!) We even helped blow out her candles!

My mom is easily the most important woman in my life, and I only hope I can be as cool as her when I’m 53! It’s difficult for her having three children spread across three countries,  so I thought an appropriate gift would be the gift of having us all together. Even though we couldn’t be together physically to celebrate her birthday, it was so much fun to all be together digitally. The usual family dynamics ensued. Patrick cracked the jokes that had us all in stitches, shirtless Ben said a few words and then went back to sleep, Frank put the candles on the cake backwards and I added in my two cents every once in a while. Family time with all five of us together is surely becoming more and more precious, which is what made this so special.

Happy birthday, MIB! I hope you enjoyed your “present”!

2 thoughts on “Reunited and it feels so good

  1. HI Kimber, so good to read your blogs. We don’t find them mundane at all. Everyday life in Dalian is interesting to us. Our flowers are blooming somewhat here in Pa. Daffodils, crocus. Happy Weekend! Take care. Love Aunt Sherry & Uncle Peter.

  2. Hey Aunt Sherry,
    Thanks for reading. The flowers are starting to bloom all over Dalian now. I’m so happy it’s spring! I hope Easter Egg dying is fun!

Leave a Reply

