Get in my belly

What's better for breakfast on a Saturday morning than homemade french toast with fresh strawberries and sugar? Hands down one of my favorite breakfasts in China so far, especially because it also included a mini version of one of my other favorite fruits!

I’ve had a huge appetite lately. Maybe it’s the Gaelic football training, maybe it’s the arrival of Spring weather, maybe it’s the fact that food stalls have returned after a Winter hiatus and are filling the streets with the aroma of sizzling meat… in any case, I’ve been chowing down with unusual gusto. Below are some pictures I’ve snapped of recent meals.

E-Z Burger, a new "American" burger joint, recently opened near the West Gate of my university. For about $2 you get a decent burger, potato wedges and a soda. I've only been once so far, but I'm sure I'll go back. If only they also had chocolate milkshakes...

No animals were harmed in the preparation of this meal. The skewers are deep fried tofu, and the veggie stirfy includes a tofu product that looks like squid. This meal is courtesy of "The Loving Hut," a vegetarian restaurant near my apartment. It's nice to pop over here when I'm tired of eating goopy, meaty, or salty Chinese fare and want something a little healthier.

The previous PiA fellows in Dalian told us that this was one of their favorite restaurants, and it has not disappointed. The food is from China's westernmost province of Xinjiang, which is home to the Uighur people, a Chinese ethnic minority that is Muslim. My friends and I affectionately call our weekly meals here "Muslim Mondays" and without question order at least one plate of the well-seasoned lamb and naan dish above.

A popular option for a "fancier" meal is Korean barbecue, where you order slices of raw meat and cook them yourself over your table's built-in grill. My students like to go here for a celebration or a big dinner out with friends because in addition to grilling your own meat, Korean barbecue restaurants often include an all-you-can-eat buffet of side dishes.

However, if you aren't careful, your meat might catch on fire, as evidenced by the minor mishap above. Oops!

2 thoughts on “Get in my belly

  1. I love French Toast and strawberries but really love the plate they are on. All the food looks good. By the way how is the weight going for you. With all the tempting food I would think weight control would be hard.

Leave a Reply

