Hostess with the Mostess

This semester Margaret and I (together we are Marberly) have started having people over to our apartment more often. Our apartment really is the perfect little space for hosting dinner parties, and although we definitely aren’t professional chefs, we do enjoy cooking. We only have four chairs, so if we have more than two guests, we have to repurpose a little table as an extra stool. We have just enough bowls, plates and silverware for everyone if we plan carefully. We have a wok, a frying pan, and a pot (but only one burner) in addition to a rice cooker and a toaster oven. It’s fun trying to make the most out of what we have!

We’ve already hosted two dinners, one brunch and already have tons of ideas of different things we’d like to try for our next brunch/lunch/dinner party. For example, since we don’t have very many female students, we’re planning to have a “girl’s night” and invite our sophomore girls over to make fruit smoothies (Jess & Maggie, if you’re reading this, the blender is awesome!). I was also thinking how it would be fun to have some students over for an Easter Egg dying party, because that is something that I’m sure most Chinese students have never done before.

Our PiA feast with David and Matt included red wine, potato leek soup, green salad!!! and garlic bread (unintentionally) made with a loaf of raisin bread

My first green salad in China! Fresh lettuce, hard boiled egg, candied walnuts, cucumber, tomato, carrot, croutons and Marberly's homemade lemon vinaigrette. It totally hit the spot!

In addition to cooking at home for guests, I’ve also been trying to plan more lunch and dinner dates with friends. It’s a great excuse to try a new restaurant (or go back to an old favorite) and very affordable, with the average meal costing US $1-3. A blog post with pictures of some of my favorite dishes is in the works…

Writing this post made me very hungry. I think I’m going to get a snack now!

3 thoughts on “Hostess with the Mostess

  1. Salad looks great. Next time your here I’ll let you take over the kitchen and you can surprise me. Glad you are getting a lot out of your stay in China. I’m sure you will have plenty to tell us when we see you.

  2. Your diary and pictures give a great view of everyday life in Dalian. And your sense of humor shines thru. Heading to the kitchen for my suppe now!
    Love, Aunt Anne

  3. Looks delicious! Makes me want to start cooking more for myself too. It’s too bad (or, very amazing) that restaurant food is so incredibly cheap!

Leave a Reply

