Football= Soccer? Nope. My foray into Gaelic Football

On most Sunday nights, you can find me at Brooklyn Bar and Restaurant, arguably the best “Western” food in Dalian (think pulled pork sandwiches, vegetable panini, and pizzas with real cheese). However, I’m not there for the food, because it is a bit out of my price range. I go for the weekly trivia night. As far as trivia goes, I am probably the most useless person ever, but I enjoy the competitive atmosphere (and pretending like I at least know some of the answers). It’s a nice way to unwind at the end of the weekend, even if I do have to teach on Monday at 8 am. It helps that our team (about five or six of my fellow teachers at DUT) usually places first or second, which means a round of free drinks!

This past week at trivia, I heard the announcer mention that he was looking for girls to play football. I assumed he meant soccer, and decided to ask him for some more details. I said I played soccer in high school and would be happy to start playing again here, even if I am a little (*cough cough*) out of shape. He was quick to explain that he wasn’t looking for people to play just regular old football, he was looking for women willing to play Gaelic Football. You have to check out this youtube video to see this sport in action. It is some kind of weird hybrid combining skills from soccer, rugby, volleyball, american football and basketball…

I was a little skeptical, but decided to give it a try. What did I have to lose? Well, I’ve practiced with the team twice and I’m officially hooked. It’s a great workout and it feels good to be playing a team sport again. It helps that everyone on the team is friendly, fun and supportive. The best part is Gaelic requires very few specific skills, just some athletic ability and common sense– aka it’s the perfect sport for me! I’m contemplating going with the team to a Gaelic Football tournament at the end of April in Shanghai. Should be fun! Maybe I should come up with an Irish nickname now…

Happy early St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

One thought on “Football= Soccer? Nope. My foray into Gaelic Football

  1. Kimber, Do you have the time to dedicate to this activity? The youtube says you have to practice a lot! It looks like fun! Maybe you and Eliza could get together, since she plays Quidditch.

Leave a Reply

