Margaret Holmes Farrell (October 18, 1922- December 14, 2010)

In my oral English classes when we were talking about our family trees, one of the discussion questions was to talk about a person in your family who you admire. When I was presenting my family tree to the class, I talked about Grandma. I really did admire her a lot– I admired how she was always reading, how she took care of herself well and always wore nice clothes and makeup, how she managed to raise eight amazing kids, and be a thoughtful and loving grandmother to so many grandchildren. She was strong-willed, smart, independent, and faithful. She always managed to make me feel special, whether it was telling me how proud she was of me, or telling me I was beautiful.

I’ll remember helping her carry out trays of iced tea and corn on the cob to the patio at Applebutter Hill. I’ll remember sneaking candy from the the porcelain candy box on her coffee table. I’ll remember holding her hand in church while singing the Our Father (and how she would introduce me to half of the congregation after mass). I’ll remember her in her bathrobe and slippers, a cup of coffee in hand. I’ll remember how she couldn’t find the receipt for a pair of pants she wanted to return at Kohl’s, and finally found it days later, stuffed inside the leg of the pants. I’ll remember how her shelves were crowded (tastefully, of course) with picture frames that she rotated occasionally to make sure that she gave every grandchild the attention they deserved.

I’ll miss her, but I’m happy knowing that I was able to spend 22 great years knowing her. I’m sure she’s happy to be with Grandpa again.

I wish I could be with everyone in Pennsylvania right now, but I’ll have to say goodbye in my own special way. I know she used to read this blog, so Grandma, this one’s for you! Love, Kimberly

9 thoughts on “Margaret Holmes Farrell (October 18, 1922- December 14, 2010)

  1. That’s so nice Kimberly! Thank you. You have helped me release some difficult emotions. Happy Holidays. Love you!

  2. Kimberly you have a way with words. You have done an amazing contribution to your grandmother. You have such beautiful memories to keep grandma Peggy with you. You will be missed at the service but not forgotten as we know you would be one of the first ones there if you could. Our thoughts and prayers are with you. Sending our love, Grandmom and Grandpop Sine

  3. I really enjoyed reading about your memories of your Grandmother and seeing that lovely picture. My mom was also Grandma Peggy to my kids. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  4. Kimberly, your tribute to Grandma is beautiful; she and Grandpa are together looking down and smiling at your expressive words. You are with us. Love, Aunt Anne

  5. Kimberly,
    This is lovely. Thank you for writing it. I am sending to my mom (Aunt Carol).
    She is very sad too. Love, Marlene

  6. What a beautiful tribute to your grandmother! I am sure there will be an awesome reunion in heaven with the extended Farrell clan. Peg always seemed like the perfect lady to me whenever we met at Waldron family reunions. Many will miss her presence!

    Beth Stuart (Granddaughter of Helen Farrell Waldron)

  7. Kimberly, I just wanted to tell you that we used a quote from your beautiful tribute to Grandma in the eulogy that Tim and Maureen did after the funeral mass. I’ll send you an email with it one day soon. Love and a big hug.

  8. Thanks to everyone who left a comment here! This entry became the most read post on my blog… and rightfully so! I just received a Christmas card that Grandma sent before she passed away, which was a nice little reminder that she’s still here in spirit. In the card, she said that she enjoyed reading my blog 😉

Leave a Reply

