Teaching Update: Broken Record?

Now that the Freshman have finished their military training, I am teaching all nine of my classes. Three are writing classes, six are speaking classes. Add to that the two hours a week that I teach at the kindergarten, as well as six Chinese classes…and my schedule is pretty full. (Each class is two 45-minute segments with a five minute break in between.)

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
8:00-8:45 听说 听说 English Writing1 听说 Pre-K 8:30-9:00
8:50-9:35 听说 听说 English Writing1 听说
10:05-10:50 Oral English1 教程 English Writing2 读写 Oral English4
10:55-11:40 Oral English1 教程 English Writing2 读写 Oral English4
LUNCH
13:30-14:15 读写 AdvOral English English Writing3 Oral English5
14:20-15:05 读写 AdvOral English Pre-K 2:00-3:30 English Writing3 Oral English5
15:35-16:20 Oral English2 Oral English3
16:25-17:00 Oral English2 Oral English3

I’ve taught the same speaking lesson four times already…and I’m starting to think I sound like a broken record.

When showing them a picture of my family, “I have two brothers. Do you think they are older or younger than me.” They all respond in chorus, “Olderrrrr!” Then I smile devilishly, “Noooo, they are both younger than me! I am the oldest, but I’m the smallest.” Cue the gasps and giggles.

I’ve been through this routine with all of my classes, and it’s starting to get a little old. I have to constantly remind myself that it is their first time hearing this joke, even though I feel super lame using the same punch lines every time. I’ve perfected my comedy routine with each subsequent class, and my jokes still seem to get laughs, but I can’t wait until I’m done with this round of self-introductions. It’s exhausting always trying to be the entertainer. I look forward to getting them speaking more. To borrow from our PiA training, I’m tired of being the sage on the stage, I want to be the guide on the side.

Leave a Reply

