Mid-Autumn Beach Trip

The Mid-Autumn Festival took place on Wednesday, and in honor of the fullest moon in the lunar calendar, we got a long weekend to relax and chow down on questionably flavored moon cakes. Actually, I don’t really like moon cakes. They’re dense, dry and flakey on the outside, and in my experience, the insides generally taste like stale fruitcake (although we discovered one that tasted surprisingly similar to a strawberry poptart). They are ornately designed on the outside, so at least they are pleasant to look at.

Anyways, because I didn’t get my act together soon enough to plan a trip out of town for this break, I decided that I would make it a point to explore sights around Dalian. Wednesday was a windy, brisk Fall day, but the sun was shining and the sky was blue. It was probably the prettiest day I’ve seen in Dalian thus far. Margaret, Matt, David, Eric and I decided to take advantage of the nice weather and go to Golden Pebble Beach (aka 金石滩 Jinshitan), about two hours north of us. We took the normal city busses to the Dalian train station, where we got a ticket on the super-modern light rail to the beach.

While walking towards the beach, we met Sandy. Her name was clearly written across her ample bosom, but the oddities didn’t stop there. We were very confused by her shark-like volleyball head, and extremely oversized hands and feet. We thought the front was funny, but then walked around the back, and whoa. She had some junk in her trunk, and it was not being covered by her skimpy bathing suit! Oh, Sandy. After taking an excessive number of pictures of Sandy’s butt, we continued to the beach wondering what we would find next.

.

As we approached the water, we were greeted by a fan club of Chinese high school girls, and after taking part in the obligatory photo shoot, continued on our walk down the beach. I had no intention of swimming, and neither did most of the Chinese people visiting the beach.  However, the sand and water seemed like it would have been really nice on a hot, summer day

The main beach area had decent sand (probably imported), but as we walked further along the coast the shoreline was rocky. We saw some awesome spiders along the way!

The rock formations off the coast were all given very unique names. My favorite was “Dinosaur Swallowing the Sea.” If you look closely in the picture below you can kind of see Littlefoot bending down to drink from the ocean. In the foreground you can see one of the many Chinese couples we saw having their wedding pictures taken with the beautiful scenery.

Beach Boys (get it?) Matt, David and Eric.

Unfortunately, on this trip we didn’t have time to check out the nearby Disney-wannabe theme park, celebrity wax museum, or museum of Mao badges (??). So next time I go back I’ll have to check that out. It was really nice to get out of the city center for a day and I hope I’ll be able to do a lot more mini-adventure day trips like this in the future.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Autumn Beach Trip

  1. Kimberly, your adventures are fun to read. Your room tho’ small looks comfy, the food is an adventure in itself. Milk tea ( bo???) sounds good. Didn’t you even get your toes wet at the beach? Looking forward to more of your life.
    Love, Aunt Anne

  2. Hi Aunt Anne. I’m glad you are enjoying reading about my adventures. My room is super comfy. I need to post pictures of the latest updates– a wall hanging and curtains. They make it a lot more homey. I was wearing sneakers at the beach, so dipped my fingers in the water instead. That was enough for me!

Leave a Reply

