Home, sweet home

I’ve really come to love my apartment in Dalian. It is cozy, comfortable and quaint. Margaret and I live on the tenth floor of our apartment building, and luckily have an elevator! (Matt & David live on the 6th floor of a different building and have to climb six glorious flights of stairs every time they go home.) I don’t know if you would want to take the stairs in our apartment, because it is generally used as overflow storage, or for drying peanuts…

The door to our apartment is the only one in the whole building that isn’t decorated with lucky Chinese banners. We’ll have to work on remedying that. When I first got here, I was shocked to find that our door doesn’t have a doorknob. Instead, we just put in our key, twist, and then pull really hard (on the key) to get the door to open. I’ve already broken two keychains trying to do this, so I still need to work on perfecting my technique!

My room! I don’t know if this picture really does my bed justice. It pretty much takes up the whole room, with a small path around it to get to the window and my desk. After sleeping on a twin bed for the past 4+ years, it’s such a treat to be able to sprawl out diagonally!

Here’s my closet full of teacher outfits!

The bathroom is amazing. However, the mini washing machine is another story. As you can see from the picture below, doing a load of laundry (which is actually only like two pairs of pants and a couple shirts) involves a mop, a squeegee, two basins and a plastic clip. What you can’t see is that despite the crazy set up, we still end up somehow flooding the bathroom floor every time. We went to a little stall nearby that sells household goods and bought another piece of hose that we can attach to the existing hose to make it reach the drain in the floor. Hopefully that will solve some of our washing machine woes…

This is my laundry drying on the bars outside of Margaret’s window. Both of our bedrooms have a nice view of the market that is held every morning in front of our building. The market is one of my favorite things about Dalian so far. I’ll write more about that later!

I hope you’ve enjoyed the mini tour of my apartment. Until the next post, Kimfucius says…take a look at the links on the left hand side of the screen to read Margaret, Matt and Eric’s blogs about life in Dalian so far.

2 thoughts on “Home, sweet home

  1. Just read your blog. Enjoyed it very much and the pictures are great. Keep up the good work. Sending our love, Grandmom

  2. Pingback: A look back: September | Kimfucius says...

Leave a Reply

